Review 2

Review 2

Universal Principles of Design


Hierarchy of Needs

Design must serve the low-level needs (function) before the higher-level needs

  1. Functionality → meet basic design requirements
  2. Reliability → stable and consistent performance
  3. Usability → ease of use
  4. Proficiency → empowering people to do more
  5. Creativity → shit gets crazy

Development Cycle

Follow four stages of creation:

  1. Requirements → design requirements gathered
  2. Design → requirements translated into specs
  3. Development → actual product built
  4. Testing → ensure product works

Life Cycle

Products progress through four stages of existence:

  1. Introduction → product is created
  2. Growth → scale supple & performance to meet demand
  3. Maturity → enhance & refine for customer retention/satisfaction
  4. Decline → minimize maintenance & migrate customers


divide large systems into smaller, interdependent, self-contained module

  • modules should hide internal complexity, interact with other modules through simple interfaces


  1. Involve tackling a problem by breaking in down in stages, parts, etc.


  1. Some terms deal in absolutes “In order for a design to be successful…a design must…” – this can lead designers to view this principles as absolute laws that must be followed in every case, rather than guidelines that should be applied when appropriate.
  2. Terms that involve steps or have hierarchal structure don’t take into account the iterative cycle of most successful products. Often, these steps are not milestones to be achieved and then forgotten, but rather revisited and considered during every iteration.

Leave a Comment